This is the compulsory alms-giving that Allah has given the order for in the Qur’an. Its status is Fardh. Zakah is only eligible for mature, sane men and women who meet Nisab threshold. 2.5% of their wealth must then be given. Zakah must only be given to the specific eight categories mentioned in the Qur’an. If it is not given to any of them, then it will be void and necessary to re-pay. To donate to charity Zakat and fulfill the right of your wealth that Allah has bestowed upon you. –

One of the Five Pillars of Islam formally means “that which purifies”, Zakat is a compulsory charge that consists of its personal set of expectations and requirements. One of which is that you have to keep sufficient wealth to meet the Nisab threshold, a price which is calculated from 87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver. The minimal amount of Zakat you must supply is 2.5% but there is no top limit and only a unique crew of human beings can receive Zakat contributions, given in the Quran as:

  • The poor
  • The Hungry
  • Those responsible for distributing zakat
  • Those in captivity and slavery
  • Those living with unmanageable debt
  • Those who fight in the name of Allah
  • Stranded or struggling travelers
  • New Muslims and friends of Muslim communities

Zakat must be given annually, as long as you have held wealth exceeding the Nisab threshold for the previous Islamic calendar year and when you select to supply it is up to you. Many Muslims pick to give their Zakat throughout Ramadan and regularly in the closing 10 nights of Ramadan when the rewards are said to be lots greater and it is also when the Night of Power falls.

Zakat is intended to strengthen the Muslim community, the Ummah, by means of redistributing wealth to the poorest of our society and ensuring they get the resources they need to live.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Share this post with your friends

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *